Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

V6 Crankshaft Info

Discussion in 'V6 Development And Modification' started by 383 hatch, Nov 4, 2007.

  1. chrisdoesitbetter

    chrisdoesitbetter | → ³8°º™ ← |

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VR 3.8L
    i know it may sound like im repeating a question but ive read several posts with conflictiing answers. i have a series 1 VN with all manual conversion parts. i have a VR that i want to trans plant it into if i understand correctly, the Vr had the 8 bolt flywheel, therefore will the T5 bolt straigh in? can someone that has done this tell me staright up?
     
  2. OZ38

    OZ38 Member

    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Jurien Bay WA
    Members Ride:
    VS V6 T5 & VY V6 M35 UTE
    I could stand to be corrected here but, I believe if the VR doesn't have a Ecotec engine in it (from a transplant or whatever) then it will have the same bolt pattern (6 bolt) on the manual crank as the Series 1 VN V6 manual ?

    Anyone confirm if I'm right or wrong ?

    Cheers

    Deek
     
  3. OZ38

    OZ38 Member

    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Jurien Bay WA
    Members Ride:
    VS V6 T5 & VY V6 M35 UTE
    Ok I done some more reading a i think the VN / VP T5 had a 6 bolt flywheel & then maybe the VR T5 got changed to a 8 bolt flywheel. Then the VS T5 also got a 8 bolt flywheel but has a different mass balance to the VR Flywheel.

    Cheers

    Deek
     
  4. 383 hatch

    383 hatch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    Cowes, Phillip Island
    Members Ride:
    VG Ute 5.0,Torana hatch 383,WB Ute 5.0,VR stato5.0
    Deek, if you read the first post it will tell you. VN Series 1 is the only V6 with the 6 bolt pattern (both auto & manual, just different patterns). From VN series 2 onwards all V6's use the same 8 bolt pattern (including Ecotecs).
     
  5. OZ38

    OZ38 Member

    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Jurien Bay WA
    Members Ride:
    VS V6 T5 & VY V6 M35 UTE
    Thanks Tim,
    Yeah sorry for being lazy as I should have gone back to the start for the correct info.

    Cheers

    Deek
     
  6. 383 hatch

    383 hatch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    Cowes, Phillip Island
    Members Ride:
    VG Ute 5.0,Torana hatch 383,WB Ute 5.0,VR stato5.0
  7. OZ38

    OZ38 Member

    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Jurien Bay WA
    Members Ride:
    VS V6 T5 & VY V6 M35 UTE
    Ha ha no I didn't take it that way at all Tim, it's all good info.

    Cheers
     
  8. vpcalais6

    vpcalais6 F#%ING [P] PLATER

    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    central coast
    Members Ride:
    V6 manual vp Calais
    Hey mate because the vp s2 and the ecotec share the same bolt pattern does that mean I can use a ecotec flywheel on my vp s2 for my manual conversion
     
  9. OZ38

    OZ38 Member

    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Jurien Bay WA
    Members Ride:
    VS V6 T5 & VY V6 M35 UTE
    Not a 100% on this because they are different engines whether the balance of the flywheels would be different. But for my way of thinking the heavier mass of the later ecotec flywheel maybe of benefit to the VP engines balance.

    Cheers

    Deek
     
  10. vpcalais6

    vpcalais6 F#%ING [P] PLATER

    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    central coast
    Members Ride:
    V6 manual vp Calais
    Would I be able to get it balanced the same as my flex plate and do you have any idea of where I can get one



    Thanks
     
  11. OZ38

    OZ38 Member

    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Jurien Bay WA
    Members Ride:
    VS V6 T5 & VY V6 M35 UTE
    Yes.

    You could talk to this bloke as he sell new ones to suit as ChevTorque flywheels for the ecotec V6

    ChevTorque V6 Conversions in W.A. - (08) 9493 2769
    Speak to Adrian May.

    Cheers

    Deek
     
  12. vpcalais6

    vpcalais6 F#%ING [P] PLATER

    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    central coast
    Members Ride:
    V6 manual vp Calais
    Thanks for that mate
     
  13. klampy

    klampy Member

    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    coffs harbour
    Members Ride:
    Mazda E2000 V6 convert
    crank swap

    so the bolt patterns have been ironed out, but is it possible to swap VR S2 crank with an ecotec crank? i know for a fact that the oil pump drive is the same between them as i have a VS double row timing chain in my VR. and the engine is NOT an ecotec..... my "thinking out loud" asks if an ecotec crank would fit in the 3800 block...??
     
  14. PanthaVS

    PanthaVS New Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Members Ride:
    VS S-Pack SII
    I'm looking at doing a VS SII Ecotec auto-manual conversion... everywhere i read... VN this... VN that... Of the little info i can find on VS... If i get a getrag, and get all the bits required... am i right in saying:

    the only thing i need to do/alter, to make it fit is get the crank flange drilled and 2 dowels put in (To stop the 8 bolts being sheared off) ?

    If i am right in saying this, does the crank flange come off the crank? because if it does, i can take it somewhere to get it done.

    Also, what exactly is "mirror balanced"?? I'm having trouble making sence of what it is? and if its needed on a VS SII ecotec? (again... VN this... VN that....)

    oh... i know about the different spigot bush, starter motor and flywheel, i know about the manual ecu/loom and auto inhibitor problem, so yeah... im asking PURELY how to "physically" make it fit...
     
  15. OZ38

    OZ38 Member

    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Jurien Bay WA
    Members Ride:
    VS V6 T5 & VY V6 M35 UTE
    For starters..
    No the crank flange does not come off.
    The added dowel pins are what GMH did to the crank & flywheels of the ecotec V6 after the VS manual model (VT,VX,VY).
    So really you could get away without drilling for the dowels (others have).
    The VS manual flywheel will bolt straight up (just make sure it suits a Getrag Clutch Pressure plate).

    Mirror balance just means you give the engine balancer people your flexplate off you present engine, with your new flywheel. They then just copy (mirror) the balance from flexplate settings onto the new flywheel. So the new flywheel suits the engine balance.

    Cheers

    Deek
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2014
  16. Rusty-Tim

    Rusty-Tim Rusty-Tim

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    Chch NZ
    Members Ride:
    VN Ute, VN wag, VR sed, VN sed, HX Tonner, HA Viva
    So another kind of related question. I have just blown up engine bigtime in VN series 1 manual. I have a spare series 1 auto. Is it possible to just put the manual crank and therefore flywheel etc in the spare auto engine? Do they run the same size big ends and crank journals, front seals and rear seals etc??
     
  17. cander24

    cander24 New Member

    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Location:
    NSW South Coast
    Members Ride:
    VZ GTO. VS LS1.
    The crank/flywheel dowels were also fitted to a series 2 VS manual crank. Well, atleast they were in my factory manual anyway ;)
     
  18. OZ38

    OZ38 Member

    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Jurien Bay WA
    Members Ride:
    VS V6 T5 & VY V6 M35 UTE
    Yes your correct. I should have said after the VS T5 model. As the Getrag equipped Ecotec engined models all have the dowels in crank.

    Cheers

    Deek
     
  19. mattyr82

    mattyr82 New Member

    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Location:
    nthn suburbs, vic
    Members Ride:
    2009 colorado diesel 4wd automatic. 2010 mazda 3
    so are the dowels on the flywheel or the crank? if they are supposed to be on the crank....u just bolt up ur flywheel, and mark where the dowels holes are to be drilled with a texta thru the dowel holes on the flywheel.
    if the dowels are on the flywheel, use a piece of thick paper or cardboard and spear over dowels in flywheel, mark and drill/cutout bolt holes....transfer to crank, mark and drill.
     
  20. turbo_vp_v6

    turbo_vp_v6 New Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    charters towers
    Members Ride:
    vp 3.8
    Will the manual loom from a series 1 vn plug into a 92 vp. have a series 1 vn manual that i want to put into my vp.
     

Share This Page