Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[Ecotec] VT/VX/VY Manual Conversion tips

Discussion in 'V6 Development And Modification' started by DavidPartay, Sep 5, 2009.

  1. DavidPartay

    DavidPartay somewhat awesome

    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2009 Subaru Liberty
    Hi mate, Holden should have the part for you. I'm not sure how much it would cost though, probably about $60 - $100 for genuine at a rough guess.
     
  2. damiandownie

    damiandownie Damo (Vl Walky replica)

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Members Ride:
    VT V6 commy

    Cheers. i figured holden would be the best chance, lol was hoping not too though haha, quite expensive at times as we know.
     
  3. epic.rang.rang

    epic.rang.rang New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    wollongong
    Members Ride:
    vu commodore s2
    hey great thread, very interesting and inspirational.
    i have a vu commodore ute with an auto but wish to convert it to a manual. unfortunately i don't have a workshop in my new apartment so am looking for someone who could do it for me. I am in the wollongong/illawarra area but am willing to travel. know anyone interested in this type of work?
     
  4. epic.rang.rang

    epic.rang.rang New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    wollongong
    Members Ride:
    vu commodore s2
    great thread, very informative and inspirational.
    I have a vu commodore ute auto but want to convert it to manual. I dont have a workshop in my new apartment so i am looking for someone to do the job. Im in the wollongong/illawarra area but willing to travel around. does anybody know someone?
     
  5. epic.rang.rang

    epic.rang.rang New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    wollongong
    Members Ride:
    vu commodore s2
    hey great thread, very interesting and inspirational.
    i have a vu commodore ute with an auto but wish to convert it to a manual. unfortunately i don't have a workshop in my new apartment so am looking for someone who could do it for me. I am in the wollongong/illawarra area but am willing to travel. know anyone interested in this type of work?
     
  6. stevoss

    stevoss New Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    newy
    Members Ride:
    s2 vt ss
    also you can get a kit which includes a polished master and braided lines, have not seen personally but have heard about it.
     
  7. sassyone1986

    sassyone1986 sassyone1986

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Location:
    penrith, sydney
    Members Ride:
    vl executive turbo
    is it possible to put a manual conversion from a vn into a vt, is the pedal box different and will the t5 work in the vt....cheers
     
  8. stevoss

    stevoss New Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    newy
    Members Ride:
    s2 vt ss
    yeah you can use a t5 behind an ecotec but you will need to get a t5 conversion flywheel/clutch and you will need to get a modified clutch pedal as it is different from a vn to vt, there is a heap more information on t5 conversions on the l67 forum.
     
  9. Claudy

    Claudy French Com

    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Location:
    Perth, Two Rocks
    Members Ride:
    Manual Gen3 VT SS + V6 VT manual turbo
    hey guys, im putting a t5 in my vt auto on the weekend, i have a manual memcal which i am going to put in my original computer. i got a few questions but: with the reverse lights is it the same colours as the pictures of the plugs u put up on the first page for a VT? and also the neutral switch bridging wires? one more, how did u go with the speedo? I heard u can cut the purple/white wire coming out the ecu and connect it directly to the purple wire coming off the T5 speedo sensor and it will work. has anyone tried this before?
    Cheers
     
  10. Verceti

    Verceti New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VT S
    you guys balance your flywheels? called a shop and they made it out to be important. also quoted me 2-3grand

    ive done manual conversions before to fords, did you guys find this conversion straight forward?
     
  11. Claudy

    Claudy French Com

    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Location:
    Perth, Two Rocks
    Members Ride:
    Manual Gen3 VT SS + V6 VT manual turbo
    Wat gearbox u gonna put in but? Getrag or t5? I've also heard bout the balancing for getrag. I put my t5 in no problem didn't take long to do, the longest part was waiting for tailshaft to get made lol
     
  12. DavidPartay

    DavidPartay somewhat awesome

    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2009 Subaru Liberty
    I didn't balance my flywheel, but I didn't do a new flywheel + clutch package either as it was all in good condition (only 97,000 old)
     
  13. uNEEk

    uNEEk New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VT 3.8 V6 EQUIPE
    okay boys, seems yous have done the conversions already can you please help me, i have the getrag box to go underneath my 3.8 VT commodore, so i have the manual pedal box, shitfer/linkages, master/slave, clutch resovoir, gearbox, ecu & tailshaft off a VU Ute,

    my question can i use the first half of the VU tailshaft on themanual box joining up to the rear tailshaft that is already on my auto VT?

    also where could i get a hydraulic line made for the master to slave cylinders?? thanks heaps everyone
     
  14. stevoss

    stevoss New Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    newy
    Members Ride:
    s2 vt ss
    you could but why not just find yourself a full tail shaft from a wreckers, and for the line mall wood or get a custom 1 from pirtek and remember new flywheel bolts ;)

     
  15. uNEEk

    uNEEk New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VT 3.8 V6 EQUIPE
    i have tried all the wreckers in my region (north QLD) and all the manual vt's at every wreckers have been stripped of everything, so your saying that i could use the rear half of my VT auto tailshaft? thanks for that i will give mal wood a call and sort it out, did you also need to get a new shifter mount plate for your VT S1? as i have the same model, thanks
     
  16. stevoss

    stevoss New Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    newy
    Members Ride:
    s2 vt ss
    yeah you can will cost a little bit to get one made up and balanced , as for the shifter i drilled 2 holes for it and used a bracket for the rear, that reminds me i really need to get that sealed water tight, lol.
     
  17. uNEEk

    uNEEk New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VT 3.8 V6 EQUIPE
    no worries mate thanks for the info. helped me out alot cheers
     
  18. 3.8onboost

    3.8onboost New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Location:
    gladstone
    Members Ride:
    03 vy wagon
    Hey guys some good info in here was wondering if everything out of a 01 vt would bolt into my 03 vy wagon getting the manual out of the vt and into vy.. any idea if its just a straight swap or will I need to blow more money? Let me know cheers
     
  19. DavidPartay

    DavidPartay somewhat awesome

    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2009 Subaru Liberty
    It's my understanding that the tailshaft is different between the VT and VX/VY, so you'll have to look at that. You'll need the PCM reprogrammed to work with the manual gearbox, but other than that it's all the same gearbox, clutch, engine, mounting points, etc. At least, as far as I'm aware there are no other differences between the VT and VY :). I would grab the workshop manuals for both, get familiar with them, and find out for certain.
     
  20. madrx3boy

    madrx3boy Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    98 VT Acclaim
    Sorry to dig up an old thread, just have a question about the electrical side of this.

    If I just rewire the speedo sensor & reverse lights, and bypass the neutral safety switch, can I get away with just using the current auto BCM, PCM, and loom thats in the car, without doing anything else? Or does the Auto PCM still have to be reprogrammed as mentioned above? (And what's the difference between the manual & auto programming?)

    Cheers
     

Share This Page